Kale chips and couch time

I often sit alone on this couch.  I have all this free space to spread my legs and lie down. I also  have a  free nook where I can place a big bowl of kale chips. If these first few sentences made you pity me, then I was successful in my endeavor.

Being alone at night time can sometimes be difficult, but there are ways to make it more enjoyable. Kale isn’t the answer, but I have big bunch left over from the Kale salad I made the other night.

To make kale chips rip the kale leaves off their ribs and place a single layer of them on a baking sheet. Drizzle olive oil and sprinkle salt. I also dust a pinch full of cumin or Spanish smoked paprika on mine. Place them in a 350 degree oven for anywhere between 10 and 15 minutes. You will know that they are done when the edges have browned just a tad and the leaves are crisp all the way through.

Make this snack (or any snack) for the purpose of relaxing. Set the stage by turning on something you like to watch or listen to, adjusting the lights, and invite yourself to unwind from your day. I turn an episode of Mad Men and spread out for an hour with no interruption.

Leave a Reply

